9/11, Never Forget

Thank you for devoting your attention to the preceding updates and videos. All updates were courtesy of the History Channel.
Late last night I took the time to go back and watch some footage from this day in 2001, and it’s amazing how it brings you right back to that day. One of my most vivid memories from my early childhood was watching the news as they replayed the videos of the towers getting hit over, and over, and over. And then worse yet, was when I looked over at my dad, sitting on the couch and he was just motionless, eyes wide, glued to the screen. It was that moment when I realized that something truly awful was happening and we were completely powerless to stop it. Would there be more planes? Would they target somewhere even closer to us? What if the WTC was just the beginning? When will it end? I was only six at the time, so the best way I knew to show my feelings about that day’s events was to draw a picture.

   I can’t say my face looked all that much different when I listened to Alan Jackson’s “Where Were You When the World Stopped Turning” last night (well, aside from the wonky eyes and wide open mouth). But despite the heartbreak and tragedy that today brought about, isn’t it amazing to see how we’ve bounced back?

Leave a Reply

